The Funeral

please attend this funeral, so I can lay my pain to rest

the pallbearers are my new experiences and the mourners are my new attitude

drop drop several tears down the cheek

sniffles and muffled cries are the only thing I hear

the weather is gloomy, the ground muddy

don’t wear your new shoes, it may get a little dirty

wear black I say.  ladies, cover your face with a veil

so your face will be shielded, as they bury my pain away.

12 feet under the ground, 6 feet extra just to make sure

that the negativity, the doubts, and the cries all go away.

I look up at the sky as the rain paints my face

rain rain, please don’t go away.

Wash me, wash me to a better place.

The flowers around me are dead, brown and shriveled

but they do not take my joy away.

At this funeral, my pain and suffering are being buried.

My feelings are no more.

Maybe the guests should’ve worn white to symbolize no more negativity

but alas this is no celebration

but instead a funeral for all the negativity

Leave a Reply

